My Post-E3 Previews & Predictions Review

It’s coming up on a month since E3, which sounds a little late to be writing a wrap-up of what predictions I got right and wrong from each press conference, but I’ve got nothing else to write about at the moment, so I might as well. Let’s go right through them, in order.

Bethesda

Bethesda

Game We Knew About:

Bethesda’s press conference had all the games I thought it would, and it just barely added more than that. I had assumed that Fallout 4, Doom, Battlecry, and Elder Scrolls Online would be there and they were.

Predicted Announcements:

My only other thought was that we could get Dishonored: Definitive Edition or perhaps Dishonored 2. We ended up getting both, of course, which still fit into my predicted Game Lineup.

Unpredicted Announcements:

The only games that fell outside my prediction were an Elder Scrolls online card game as well as Fallout Shelter for iOS, but I don’t necessarily think much of either of those games, so without question, my best job of predicting a lineup came from Bethesda.

Predicted Lineup:

  1. Fallout 4
  2. Doom
  3. Battlecry
  4. The Elder Scrolls Online
  5. Dishonored: Definitive Edition
  6. Dishonored 2

Actual Lineup

  1. Fallout 4
  2. Doom
  3. Battlecry
  4. The Elder Scrolls Online
  5. Dishonored: Definitive Edition
  6. Dishonored 2
  7. Fallout Shelter
  8. Elder Scrolls: Legends

Microsoft

Microsoft

Games We Knew About:

As I thought they might, Microsoft essentially repeating the beginning of their 2012 E3 presser by showing off a story mode mission from Halo 5: Guardians.

Unbeknownst to me when I first wrote my prediction article, several games were skipping E3 for Gamescon in August, including Crackdown, Scalebound, and Quantum Break. But there were several others in a list of games I had grouped together in that article that were, such as Rise of the Tomb Raider and Fable Legends.

My guarantee of Forza Motorsports 6 and Gears’s appearance, were spot-on. I only wish I had also predicted that they would drop a car from the ceiling, because of course they would drop a car from the ceiling. Gears of War: Ultimate Edition, the XBO port of the original, was shown off as expected, and footage was even shown of a brand new Gears title slated for holiday 2016.

Telltale’s Minecraft: Story Mode did not make an appearance, but the franchise itself did do so in a much more interesting way…

Predicted Announcements: 

Probably my safest predictions: Lionhead Studios and Team Dakota didn’t have anything to show. Not surprising. One just released a game and the other still has to. The only chance I was going to be wrong was if they were suddenly a whole lot bigger than anyone thought.

The three studios with known games in development were almost all no-shows. Twisted Pixel, who hasn’t released a game since LocoCycle in 2013, actually surprised me by not showing, while Decisive Games, a new RTS studio for Microsoft who were reportedly hiring earlier this year, probably just aren’t far along enough in development of anything to have been there.

But the third studio was Rare Ltd, and they certainly did show. The first game they showed off was a collection of 30 classic Rare games that is releasing in August of this year. The second was Sea of Thieves, which purported to show off gameplay footage of a pirate-themed adventure game that looks to be online-multiplayer centric. It was not, however, what I thought might be a Banjo-Kazooie game.

I thought D4: Episode 2 might be there. I should not be surprised that it wasn’t.

Third Party Lineup:

Call of Duty certainly surprised me this year, jumping ship from its usual platform on Microsoft’s stage to Sony’s later that night. Maybe it shouldn’t have, after all, it clearly got outshone by virtually everything that came before it. Perhaps it would have had more attention at Microsoft’s? Or not. Probably not.

As I noted in this and Sony’s article, I felt that Star Wars Battlefront was more likely to appear on Sony’s stage, and I was right about that. I countered that I thought Titanfall 2 might appear on Microsoft’s stage, but that game didn’t appear whatsoever.

I had also thought that EA would probably not have anything for Microsoft’s presser, and I was mostly right. They announced new titles coming to EA Access, and what could be considered a throwaway in Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare 2. I was more correct in thinking Ubisoft would actually give a game, since there are a few we’ve already seen enough of to get past the “reveal” stage, but could stand to see more. That “more” ended up being Tom Clancy’s The Division, making a repeat appearance on Microsoft’s stage. For Square Enix and Bethesda, I was right on one and wrong on the other. Square Enix didn’t show anything, as expected, but Bethesda ended up coming in with Fallout 4. It’s important to note that I did suggest it was possible, but only doubted it. So I get like a fourth of a point for that, or something.

I had noted that I thought MGSV and Dark Souls III could make an appearance to repeat what we saw in 2013, and the latter of those two did get announced on Microsoft’s stage. Unfortunately for me, virtually all of the other 3rd party titles I thought could be there weren’t.

Bold Prediction:

So I said two things in my bold prediction for Microsoft’s press conference: (1) they were going to devote an extended length of time to Hololens and (2) it was going to suck as bad as any Kinect demo had.

Well I am delightfully proud to say that I was right on the first prediction and wrong on the second. Hololens did make an appearance, and that appearance was excellent, featuring a demo featuring how you can basically be god of a Minecraft world on your tabletop. Color me impressed.

Unpredicted Announcements:

Because I didn’t really cover tech announcements in my predictions, of course I missed the “backwards compatibility” announcement, which is still a big compromise to me when considering what that term normally means.

But as I had expected, quite a number of the games I missed came from 3rd parties. I already noted Fallout 4 and Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare 2, but other games include the indie MOBA-like game Gigantic and the game that may have garnered the most interest from non-Microsoft fans in Re-Core, a game from Keiji Inafune and former developers of Metroid Prime that, unfortunately, debuted with a CG trailer alone. (stop doing that Microsoft, seriously)

Predicted Lineup:

  1. Halo 5: Guardians
  2. Gears of War Remastered
  3. Gears of War 4
  4. Rise of the Tomb Raider
  5. Fable Legends
  6. Quantum Break
  7. Forza Motorsports 6
  8. Crackdown
  9. Scalebound
  10. Banjo-Kazooie Title
  11. D4: Dark Dreams Don’t Die, Episode 2
  12. Call of Duty: Black Ops III
  13. Dark Souls III
  14. Rock Band 4
  15. Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain

Actual Lineup:

  1. Halo 5: Guardians
  2. Gears of War: Ultimate Edition
  3. Gears 4
  4. Rise of the Tomb Raider
  5. Fable Legends
  6. Re-Core
  7. Forza Motorsports 6
  8. Fallout 4
  9. Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare 2
  10. Sea of Thieves
  11. Rare Replay
  12. Tom Clancy’s The Division
  13. Dark Souls 3
  14. Gigantic

Electronic Arts

EA

Games We Knew About:

I will give EA credit: I didn’t think they were going to show anything that we didn’t know about, and I was wrong in a very good way. That’s not to say that we didn’t get a lot of what we did, so let’s start there.

Mass Effect, Mirror’s Edge and Star Wars Battlefront all made unsurprising, but nonetheless exciting showings at this year’s E3. The only non-sports game that I thought would be there but wasn’t, was the multi-vehicle game from Criterion that was talked about at last year’s E3. Maybe next year.

Sports games showed up, of course, but nothing close to the Space Jam reveal I was hoping for. Instead we’ll get more face-mapping technology in NBA Live– because that worked so well last time. Madden, NHL and FIFA were also both there, of course, and their reveals did exactly what we thought they would. We got more talk of defense improving in Madden and a guest appearance by an athlete. This time Pele accepted the check.

Predicted Announcements:

We thought there would be a new Need for Speed game and viola! There was! We did know about it as a reboot to the franchise, but this was the first time we saw it. What we didn’t see: anything from The Sims franchise. I know, I was shocked too.

I had thought that EA did not need to show off Titanfall 2 and they decidedly agreed, even if I had predicted that they would anyway.

Bold Prediction:

I thought they wouldn’t show anything we didn’t already know about. Well played, Unraveled. 

Unpredicted Announcements: 

Technically I didn’t really include add-on content to previous games in my predictions, but on the other hand, I talked about Elder Scrolls Online in my Bethesda preview, so I may as well mention Star Wars: The Old Republic: Knights of the Fallen Empire– if only because I’ve neglected that game completely despite liking almost everything they showed me. Except the graphics, but it’s an MMO, so how much can you actually do?

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare 2 obviously slipped by me, mainly because that’s a franchise that has always slipped by me, and like Bethesda’s conference, I understandably missed two mobile games in a Star Wars CCG roleplaying game and Minions Paradise.

Predicted Lineup:

  1. Star Wars Battlefront
  2. Visceral’s Star Wars IP
  3. BioWare’s New IP (Star Wars) <- though technically they did have something
  4. Mirror’s Edge
  5. New Criterion IP
  6. Need for Speed Reboot
  7. Mass Effect 4
  8. Madden 16
  9. FIFA 16
  10. NHL 16

Actual Lineup:

  1. Star Wars Battlefront
  2. Unravel
  3. Star Wars: The Old Republic: Knights of the Fallen Empire
  4. Mirror’s Edge: Catalyst
  5. Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare 2
  6. Need for Speed
  7. Mass Effect: Andromeda
  8. Madden NFL 16
  9. FIFA 16
  10. NHL 16
  11. NBA Live 16
  12. Star Wars: Galaxy of Heroes
  13. Minions Paradise

Ubisoft

Ubisoft

Games We Knew About:

All the big games I thought would be shown on stage were, with Just Dance 2016, Assassin’s Creed Syndicate, Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six: Seige, and Tom Clancy’s The Division all making an appearance. The only other game I even mentioned in this category was Toy Soldiers: War Chest, which understandably did not appear.

Expected Announcements:

I noted in my analysis article that Ubisoft is hard to read because it tends to spread out its development of multiple games over multiple internal developers and subsidiaries. The best I could do was look at release date frequencies for franchises that Ubisoft has iterated upon in the last few years and try to make an educated guess as to what might show up. So it should come as no surprise that I was wrong on most games.

My prediction on a new Call of Juarez game was the one I was most disappointed did not come to pass, as I still figure Ubisoft is developing another game in the franchise after Gunslinger seemed to do so well commercially and critically.

What might be more surprising, to me, at least, is how not a single game was announced that took advantage of the UbiArt engine that has worked so well with Rayman and Valiant Hearts. The prior of those two being a series that seemed ready for a new installment since we’re nearing the span between Rayman Legends and Rayman Origins. So I guess I had a double-wrong prediction there.

I was also wrong about there being a new Trials game, but there was still content from that franchise shown during the press conference in the form of the Trials Fusion: Awesome Level Max expansion pack.

My suggestion that Ubisoft could technically show Beyond Good & Evil 2 or a Prince of Persia game was wrong and I apologize to everyone for making dumb assertions.

Bold Prediction:

Dean Evans’s game did not show up at E3. I maintain that we would have known if it did. It’d be the only game at Ubisoft’s press conference that anyone cared about.

Unpredicted Announcements: 

Then again, For Honor looked interesting. A multiplayer melee game that feels heavily comparable to Chivalry: Medieval Warfare, except with killstreaks.

As one can imagine, several of the games I missed guessing were actually new IPs, with For Honor being one of them. The other was a city-building game in Anno 2205 for the PC.

Coming out of nowhere as far as sequels and existing franchises go, though, were South Park: The Fractured but Whole, Trackmania Turbo, and Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon: Wildlands. The first is a sequel to a game many thought was going to be a one and done situation, the second is a smaller franchise with multiple spin-offs released and currently in development, and the last is the third Tom Clancy game that has been announced in 3 years– all of which have yet to be released. Okay, maybe I should have seen Trackmania coming, but at Ubisoft’s presser? I don’t know.

Predicted Lineup:

  1. Assassin’s Creed Syndicate
  2. Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six: Siege
  3. Tom Clancy’s The Division
  4. Just Dance 2016
  5. Rayman title
  6. Trials title
  7. UbiArts Title
  8. Dean Evan’s New IP

Actual Lineup:

  1. Assassin’s Creed Syndicate
  2. Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six: Siege
  3. Tom Clancy’s The Division
  4. Just Dance 2016
  5. Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon: Wildlands
  6. Trackmania Turbo
  7. Anno 2205
  8. For Honor
  9. Trials Fusion: Awesome Level Max
  10. South Park: The Fractured but Whole

Sony

Sony

Games We Knew About:

It’s a little funny. I led off my preview with assumptions that many of the games shown off at the PlayStation Experience were going to show up at Sony’s E3 press conference, and while Kill Strain, Drawn to Death, and Until Dawn were at the show, none of them were shown during the actual presser.

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End was shown as expected, but Sony didn’t show anything about The Nathan Drake Collection coming out later this year– leaving it to a quick demo reel at the start of the show. The same thing happened to Tearaway: Unfolded, which also releases later this year.

Project Morpheus was briefly covered during the presser, but that was it for that, leaving any news or games for it to be covered at Sony’s booth or in the individual E3 streams around the show floor.

Finally, in a disappointment to JRPG fans everywhere, Persona 5 didn’t even show up.

Expected Announcements: 

I was right in predicting that Gran Turismo 7 or Sucker Punch’s new game wouldn’t show up, but that’s about as expected as the first two predictions I had in the Microsoft preview. Though while we may not see the latter for a few more years, I can almost guarantee we’ll see the prior next E3.

Since God of War III: Remastered hasn’t even released yet, I shouldn’t have been surprised that my prediction for a God of War 4 was wrong, but more curious was the lack of anything from Team Gravity, as Shuhei Yoshida stated after E3 this year that they’re just waiting for the right time to unveil it. (Much like he said consistently about The Last Guardian.) So either this stays in development until they either release a new handheld system or port it to PS4, or this seems like a game meant for PSX or TGS, where it was first revealed in 2013.

Guerilla Cambridge is likely still working on their new game, and I bet Sony just wanted to hold off whatever they were making as it’s likely a ways out and they didn’t need to reveal it whatsoever. They had no reason mainly because of what else they had to show, especially from Guerilla Games, whose supposedly leaked Project Horizon, turned out to be exactly what I thought it would be in Horizon: Zero Dawn– giant robot dinosaurs being hunted by tribal people and all.

We knew that Media Molecule was working on a new project, but I had taken for granted that what they showed at the PS4 announcement event was anything more than a tech demo. Instead we get dreams, which I guess I’m not sure what to think of at this point, but I’m very interested in seeing what users make with it.

It’s been three years since bend Studio last released a game and four years since any of those games resembled something hardcore fans would enjoy. I am legitimately surprised nothing showed this year and seriously hope that whatever does is worth the wait.

I guess SCE Japan Studio is just gonna wait to reveal games to the fans that really want to see it. Heres to TGS and PSX.

David Cage must really have gone back to the drawing board, because he wasn’t there either. Well at least PS4 remasters of Heavy Rain and Beyond: Two Souls eventually got revealed.

3rd Party Games:

After spending a rather lengthy paragraph considering what EA games Sony might take, I settled on Star Wars: Battlefront. Nailed it!

I had decided that we’d see either more from Assassin’s Creed or Tom Clancy’s The Division at Sony’s presser, and we ended up getting the prior (with the latter retained by Microsoft for another year.)

Of course No Man’s Sky was an easy prediction, but curiously, Metal Gear Solid V wasn’t at anyone’s press event. Perhaps the bad press around Konami has everyone keeping their distance?

I underestimated Square Enix. The biggest joke, though, is that all the games they had that I thought we might see at Sony’s presser ended up being saved for their own, and instead we got virtually all of the big surprise reveals. But I’ll get to that in a moment.

I figured Fallout 4 would appear at someone else’s press conference, but Microsoft got it over Sony.

I picked Dead Island 2 over Batman: Arkham Knight, and looking back, I wish the opposite wasn’t true and that I had been right. Finally, Mad Max or Homefront: The Revolution both did not get put on stage. That was probably a good decision.

Bold Prediction:

The biggest tragedy from this event is that in 2016, I’ll actually have to come up with a new bold prediction for Sony’s press event for the first time in like 7 years. Thanks, The Last Guardian.

Unpredicted Announcements: 

Sony decided to go crazy this year and let NeoGAF run their press conference, and the first thing the forum did was decide that Square Enix should give away all of their big reveals for free! And that’s how Hitman, World of Final Fantasy, and Final Fantasy VII Remake got there– because there’s no other explanation I can think of for why Square Enix didn’t save all three of those games. I mean really.

Why didn’t I guess Street Fighter V? Am I dumb? Maybe.

There were, as expected, quite a few third party games I didn’t see coming, such as Campo Santo’s Firewatch, Disney Infinity 3.0, Call of Duty: Black Ops III, surprisingly, and the Kickstarter for Shenmue 3. The only one I probably could have seen coming was the Destiny expansion, The Taken King, and a rush of indie games– this time all from Devolver Digital.

To close, I didn’t talk about PS Vue, but no one really cares about it, so that’s just dandy.

Predicted Lineup:

  1. Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End
  2. Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection
  3. Until Dawn
  4. Tearaway: Unfolded
  5. Drawn to Death
  6. God of War 4
  7. Gravity Rush PS4
  8. Project Horizon
  9. New IP from bend Studio
  10. David Cage’s new interactive film
  11. Star Wars Battlefront
  12. Assassin’s Creed Syndicate
  13. No Man’s Sky
  14. Batman: Arkham Knight
  15. The Last Guardian

Actual Lineup:

  1. Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End
  2. Hitman
  3. Street Fighter V
  4. Dreams
  5. Firewatch
  6. Destiny: The Taken King Expansion
  7. Devolver Digital- Ronin, Eitr, Mother Russia Bleeds, Crossing Souls
  8. Horizon: Zero Dawn
  9. World of Final Fantasy
  10. Final Fantasy VII: Remake
  11. Star Wars Battlefront
  12. Assassin’s Creed Syndicate
  13. No Man’s Sky
  14. Batman: Arkham Knight
  15. The Last Guardian
  16. Call of Duty: Black Ops 3
  17. Disney Infinity 3.0
  18. Project Morpheus & PS Vue
  19. Shenmue 3

Nintendo

Nintendo

Games We Knew About:

While Sony skipped out on a large chuck of games– killing my prediction list for them– Nintendo doesn’t really do that, meaning that we were liable to get virtually all the games we knew about. That didn’t exactly happen, but we did get Mario Maker, Xenoblade Chronicles X, Yoshi’s Wooly World, and Star Fox Zero as expected.

Zelda Wii U didn’t show up. Would it have changed fans opinions on the Digital Event? Probably, but you never know.

As I expected, there were quite a few 3DS announcements to try to fill in the rest of this year, but of the games I thought could do it, only Animal Crossing: Happy Home Designer showed up– sorry Project X Zone 2. Alongside that, the leaked trailer of Hyrule Warriors Legends made its English debut, as many thought.

And then there’s the long list of games I thought could be there, but weren’t. Project Guard, Project Giant Robo, Devil’s Third, Fatal Frame: Oracle of the Sodden Raven, and Rhythm Heaven: The Best were all left out of the Digital Event– although a few showed up later during the show.

As I thought might happen, all the games from the Nintendo Direct micro a few weeks before E3 didn’t show up at the Digital Event, though I’m led to believe all were on the show floor except Dr. Mario: Miracle Cure, which actually released within that two week span.

I was a little big surprised by the latter of these two games, but Fire Emblem Fates and Genei Ibun Roku #FE were both shown off during the Digital Event.

Expected Announcements:

The expectations of big and surprising announcements I voiced about Nintendo ended up biting me in the rear this year, as my predictions based around what development teams were working on what projects ended up not helping in the slightest.

The Super Mario 3D World team didn’t show, as it looks like Mario Maker and the wide selection of Mario spinoffs will take over the 30th Anniversary for the main 3D titles. Speaking of which, the rumored Paper Mario game ended up not being made by Intelligent Systems, but by the crew behind the Mario & Luigi series. And in more predictable fashion, Camelot Software planning has a new Mario Tennis game in the works, releasing this year, rather than next year as I had expected.

Retro Studios why have you forsaken me? I had expected some sort of Metroid title from them, but instead they didn’t show and it was Next Level Games showing up with Metroid Prime: Federation Force. So basically, none of my predictions for either developer were right except that NLG showed up.

The Smash Bros. Lucas DLC ended up coming out a few days before E3, alongside additional DLC in Roy from Fire Emblem and Melee and Ryu from Street Fighter. No Mario Kart DLC could be seen.

I wrapped up my predicted announcements by going over several developers that might have games, and a few showed up. AlphaDream had Mario & Luigi: Paper Jam, and the team behind Animal Crossing had amiibo Festival. But the others I thought might show didn’t, including Creatures Inc., Treasure Co., and several internal Nintendo development teams that I expected could work on two games at a time.

3rd Party Games:

There’s nothing here. Go home.

Actually that’s not even true this year, since two games from third parties actually made it into the Digital Event, with two actually showing up in the Digital Event (as I’ll note in a bit). But my prediction that Nintendo got most of their third parties out of the way in the micro direct was correct as Bravely Second: End Layer, Project Treasure, and Little Battlers Experience weren’t in the Digital Event– and some weren’t even on the show floor.

Then there was the Platinum Games project that many were thinking over when it showed up in IGN’s stream schedule. Several games from many different companies turned out to be related to Platinum, though the only one that involved Nintendo turned out to be Star Fox Zero.

Bold Prediction:

Neither Nintendoland 2, nor a game that takes full advantage of every single amiibo was announced at E3, and many journalists, among others, took note of it. The curious thing is that Nintendo still showed signs that they were moving in the right direction– just that they’d taken a few missteps in getting to those decisions.

Animal Crossing: amiibo Festival is a free game that needs amiibo to function, but those amiibo are ones that Nintendo is releasing alongside the game and so far don’t have any functionality in other games (except Isabelle for Super Mario Maker), while the new Skylanders expansion makes use of Donkey Kong and Bowser by creating figurines for both characters that acts as both Skylander and amiibo, all existing Donkey Kong and Bowser amiibo have no functionality in the game.

So maybe this is just a step and soon Nintendo gets the big picture for amiibo, because how they should go about proving the little figurines’ worth seems pretty obvious to most spectators. Or they can keep going about making new ones knowing that we’ll buy them, either or.

Unpredicted Announcements: 

Speaking of Skylanders, if I had put up the article after listening to GiantBomb’s Jeff Gerstmann go over how they had hinted this might happen, I probably wouldn’t have missed Skylanders Superchargers making an appearance during Nintendo’s Digital Event.

Another notable miss was The Legend of Zelda: Triforce Heroes, which I didn’t expect to see considering my expectations that most resources for the team behind it would have been focused on the Wii U Zelda instead.

I had it in my lineup prediction, so I’m a little surprised I didn’t mention Yo-kai Watch at all in my preview article.

Other than that, my predictions either got the game or the team behind it right, sometimes mixing and matching both with Metroid Prime: Federation Force and Mario & Luigi: Paper Jam, and sometimes just not sure whether I got either right or not like with Animal Crossing: amiibo Festival.

Predicted Lineup:

  1. Yoshi’s Wooly World
  2. Mario Maker
  3. Xenoblade Chronicles X
  4. Star Fox Wii U
  5. Fire Emblem If
  6. Shin Megami Tensei x Fire Emblem
  7. Retro Metroid title
  8. Next Level Games new project
  9. Yo-kai Watch
  10. SNES Remix
  11. New Paper Mario
  12. Pikman 3DS
  13. Home Console Pokémon game
  14. Nintendoland 2
  15. Amiibo-centric game

Actual Lineup:

  1. Yoshi’s Wooly World
  2. Super Mario Maker
  3. Xenoblade Chronicles X
  4. Star Fox Zero
  5. Fire Emblem Fates
  6. Genei Ibun Roku #FE
  7. Skylanders Superchargers
  8. Metroid Prime: Federation Force
  9. Yo-Kai Watch
  10. Mario Tennis: Ultra Smash
  11. Mario & Luigi: Paper Jam
  12. Animal Crossing: Happy Home Designer
  13. Animal Crossing: amiibo Festival
  14. The Legend of Zelda: Tri Force Heroes
  15. Hyrule Warriors Legends

Square Enix

Square Enix

Games We Know About:

The biggest surprise may not be that I was right about a whole lot of games Squeenix was going to show off, but that two of the biggest ones were shown off at Sony’s presser, not their own. Weirdos.

We had been told that if Final Fantasy XV was going to show up, it was going to be in a small teaser or not at all, and it looks like Square Enix opted for the latter option.

Several games that I thought might be touched on but not extensively covered, notably Life is Strange and Final Fantasy XIV: Heavensward, both ended up in a little montage with a third title that I’ll get to later. On the other hand, Bravely Second: End Layer, a game I took for granted would be there, ended up not showing.

Dragon Quest did not show up in the forms I expected it to, although the director of the series recently stated that the west may get the 3DS ports of Dragon Quest VII and VIII. And in more surprising fashion, apparently the west is going to end up getting Star Ocean: Integrity and Faithlessness, which seemed like far too niche a title to possibly expect to come over here.

Of course, the western games all ended up showing– sans Triad Wars, since that game has apparently decided to stay under the radar possibly past release. Such games included Just Cause 3, Deus Ex: Mankind Divided, and Rise of the Tomb Raider.

Expected Announcements:

I got the Hitman announcement right, but I got the wrong press event, do I still get the points?

Bold Prediction:

I was a bit too bold in predicting a Kingdom Hearts III release date, but that gameplay looked pretty good to me, who is someone that didn’t like the original and hasn’t played any of the other titles in the series since.

Unpredicted Announcements:

There’s a new NieR title. The amount of people who saw that coming is factually zero.

The “Go” series for mobile and tablets that started with Hitman Go is apparently continuing with Lara Croft Go. It looks like an interesting twist to even the isometric Tomb Raider games.

Of course, I didn’t really predict Final Fantasy VII Remake and World of Final Fantasy, which were revealed at Sony’s presser but made repeat appearances at Square Enix’s.

Finally, I feel like I should have known about Dragon Quest Heroes, because that feels like a game that was already announced at one point.

Predicted Lineup:

  1. Deus Ex: Mankind Divided
  2. Just Cause 3
  3. Rise of the Tomb Raider
  4. Hitman 6
  5. Final Fantasy XIV: Heavensward
  6. Star Ocean: Of Integrity and Faithlessness
  7. Bravely Second: End Layer
  8. Kingdom Hearts 3

Actual Lineup:

  1. Deus Ex: Mankind Divided
  2. Just Cause 3
  3. Rise of the Tomb Raider
  4. Hitman
  5. Final Fantasy XIV: Heavensward
  6. Star Ocean: Of Integrity and Faithlessness
  7. NieR 2
  8. Kingdom Hearts 3
  9. Lara Croft Go
  10. Final Fantasy VII: Remake
  11. World of Final Fantasy

And that’s everything. So how do you think I did?

Leave a Reply

